
APPLICATION FOR VERMONT 
U.S. VETERAN’S 

 MOTOR VEHICLE LICENSE PLATE 
One-Time Fee is $10.00. 

(Please Print In Ink or Use Typewriter.) 

 

Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles 
120 State Street 

Montpelier, VT  05603-0001 
 

For Information Call (802) 828-2000 
Applications for Vermont U.S.Veteran’s license plates will be accepted at any time by mail.   Applications will be accepted in person 
“over the counter” at DMV branch offices only for New Registrations or if replacement plates are requested.  
 
Applications submitted with Vermont motor vehicle registration renewals and/or transfers must be submitted to the Montpelier 
office by mail or in person (branch offices do not provide these services). 
 

(If this is a new registration or a transfer, form TA-VD-119, Vt. Registration, Tax & Title Application must also be submitted along with the required fees.)     

Please make your check payable to  “Vermont DMV”  (In U.S. funds only).      (SEE INSTRUCTIONS ON BACK)
VETERAN IDENTIFICATION   (Please complete all Section 1 items and then submit to Vermont Office of Veterans Affairs.) 
Vermont Driver License Number:  Date of Birth:(mm/dd/yy)  

Last Name:  First Name:  M.I.:  
Mailing Address:(Street, Box #)  

City/Town:  State:  Zip Code:  

Branch of Service:  Entry Date: (mm/dd/yy)   DischargeDate:(mm/dd/yy)   
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1 
  [ ] Check Box If Surviving Spouse of Plate Holder. Social Security Number: /         / 

 

When Section 1 above has been completed the applicant should mail the form to: Vermont Office of Veterans 
Affairs, Drawer 20, 118 State St., Montpelier, VT  05620-4401. 

U.S. VETERAN CERTIFICATION (Office of Veterans Affairs Use Only)  
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2 
 
 
 

My authorized signature and the Official Stamp of the Vermont 
Office of Veterans Affairs certify the person named above as a 

United States veteran per 38 U.S.C. § 101(2). 
 
 
 

Authorized Signature For: 
Vermont Office of Veterans Affairs 

 Drawer 20, 118 State St., 
  Montpelier, VT  05620-4401 

1-888-666-9844 (Toll Free in Vermont) 
(802) 828-3379 or 828-3381, (Fax) (802) 828-5932 

     
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

(Not Valid Without Certified Stamp Above)
 

After Section 2 has been completed by the Office of Veterans Affairs, the applicant should complete the vehicle data requested in 
Section 3 below and submit the signed application with the required $10 one-time fee to the Department of Motor Vehicles.      

     VEHICLE INFORMATION     (Please provide all information requested.) 
Current License Plate #:  Expiration Date: (Last Day of mm/yy) ______/______ 
Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):  Vehicle Make:  

S 
E 
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T 
 

3 Vehicle Model:  Model Year:  Body Type:  

Statements and warrant herein are certified under penalty of 23 V.S.A. § 202. 
Signature of Applicant:  Date:  

DO NOT WRITE BELOW LINE - DMV USE ONLY 
 421  475  Vehicle Type: 

 455  231 Plate Style: N 

AUDIT LINE BELOW: 

 465  232 Plate Type: R Plate Issued:  EXP: ______/______  

 
 
 
 
 
   490C   

 
 
 

          

 
 
 

     CODE: 49 Return No.: Veterans Plate Fee ($10): -91- $  
 RF=$    Misc. Fee: -10-  $  
 Old Plate #:   Rater #: Total Fees Received:  $  

 
       TA-VD-159(d) INTERNET 5/06 CAY

 



INSTRUCTIONS 

Beginning November 11, 1998 the Vermont Commissioner of Motor Vehicles was authorized to issue special motor vehicle 
license plates to Vermont U.S. veterans, as defined in 38 U.S.C. § 101(2).  These license plates may be issued for use only 
on vehicles registered at the pleasure car rate of $60.00 annually (gas) or $27.00 annually (diesel) or $104.25 annually 
(other fuels) or on trucks registered for not more than 8,099 lbs. at the applicable fee. 

The additional one-time fee for a veteran’s license plate is $10.00.  These license plates will be issued bearing a 
distinctive number series, therefore, requests for “personalized” or vanity number plates or veterans plate versions of ‘low 
number’ plates will not be accepted.  

The plates shall be reissued only to the original holder of the plates or the surviving spouse. 

Applications for Vermont U.S.Veteran’s license plates will be accepted at any time by mail.   Applications will be 
accepted in person “over the counter” at DMV branch offices only for New Registrations or if replacement plates are 
requested.  

Applications submitted with Vermont motor vehicle registration renewals and/or transfers must be submitted to the 
Montpelier office by mail or in person  (branch offices do not provide these services). 

Original forms are not required.  Faxed copies will be accepted as long as they contain the required certified stamp 
and authorized signature. 

You may submit Section 1 of your application to the Vermont Office of Veterans Affairs for certification as a U. S. Veteran 
at any time.  

Please submit this completed application along with your renewal notice and required fees (if applicable).  Please 
enclose the additional $10.00 one-time fee for the veteran’s plate along with the annual renewal fees or other fees. Mail to 
the address indicated below.   (If this is a new registration or a transfer of a registration, form TA-VD-119, Vermont 
Registration, Tax & Title Application must also be submitted.) 

 PLEASE MAKE YOUR CHECK PAYABLE TO  “VERMONT DMV”  (IN U.S. FUNDS ONLY) 

SECTION 1   

Please provide all requested personal identification information. Check the box on the bottom left side of Section 1 if 
application is being made as the surviving spouse of a previous holder of a Vermont Veteran’s license plate.  If the address 
indicated is different than our records we will consider this a notification of change of mailing address for all your records.  

SECTION 2   

When Section 1. has been completed the applicant should mail the form to: Vermont Office of Veterans Affairs, Drawer 
20, 118 State St., Montpelier, VT  05620-4401. 

NOTE: Eligible Vermont veterans who have records maintained at the State of Vermont Military Department will have 
their applications certified by an original stamp and signature and mailed back to them. 

Veterans who have moved to Vermont since discharge from military service should attach copies of their Discharge Record, 
DD-214, U.S. Veterans Affairs documentation, or other document and mail them to the above address for the certification 
and return by the Office of Veterans Affairs.  

SECTION 3    

After the Office of Veterans Affairs has completed Section 2, the applicant should provide the vehicle information requested 
in Section 3 and submit the signed application with the required $10 fee to the Department of Motor Vehicles.  The renewal 
notice for the vehicle, Form TA-VD-100 or your Registration Certificate will have the preprinted information required to 
complete Section 3.  Please be sure to read your renewal notice and provide the information and fees requested if also 
renewing your registration. 

Applications submitted without certification by Vermont Office of Veterans Affairs, the signature of the applicant, or the 
required fee will be returned to the applicant. 

Please submit completed applications to: Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles, 120 State Street, Montpelier,  VT  
05603-0001 

For information about motor vehicle registration and Vermont Veteran’s license plates call the Vermont 
Department of Motor Vehicles at (802) 828-2000. 

For information about certification as a U.S. veteran and documentation required call the Vermont Office of 
Veterans Affairs toll free (In Vermont) at 1-888-666-9844 or at (802) 828-3379 or (802) 828-3381; fax number is (802) 
828-5932. 
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